Gun Laws in Texas

Nov 6, 2014 by

The Texas state constitution, under Article 1 Section 23, protects citizens’ right to carry and adults (those of legal age of 21 years old) can buy a gun without the need for a license. In order to carry a firearm, you must first apply for a license to carry a concealed handgun, since carrying a handgun openly is considered illegal, unless you are within the premises of your property, vehicle or watercraft.

According to the website of Mark Lassiter Law, applying for a permit to carry a concealed firearm requires applicants to file at the office of the city or town clerk of the area where he or she resides or has a place of business. Although there are guidelines and qualifications as to who are allowed to carry a concealed firearm, the local licensing authorities have full discretion as to who they would or would not issue the permit to. Some qualifications for a license to carry a firearm are: those are qualified to carry under federal law, those who have reside in Texas for no less than six months before the application was submitted, those who have been convicted of a felony crime, those who exhibit capable and sound judgment when it comes to proper handgun use, those who are not chemical-dependent, those who are not running from the law (fugitives), and many others. Consulting with Mark Lassiter Law can help in staying informed regarding gun laws in Texas, in order to avoid any charges regarding gun-carry violations.

Violations regarding gun-carrying in Texas can include a fine of $2,500 and/or up to a year in prison. The state of Texas considers carrying a handgun (whether openly or concealed) without a proper license to carry as a Class A Misdemeanor. Although Texas acknowledges permits to carry issued by other states, not all states recognize permits issued by the state of Texas. When facing a gun violation, it is always advised to consult with a Dallas criminal defense lawyer to ensure that your rights are fought and protected.

read more

Related Posts


Share This