Who Is Required to Have an SR-22?

Apr 25, 2014 by

One law that drivers in the US will need to observe, if ever they cause an accident or are caught driving without the required insurance liability coverage, as well as if they get multiple convictions for a traffic offense, like a DUI, or incur multiple traffic violations within a year, is to fill out an SR-22 form (some states call it FR-44), also known as Certificate of Financial Responsibility (CFR).

An SR-22 or CFR is a vehicle liability insurance document required by some states on drivers guilty of any of the cases stated above. This form is forwarded by an auto insurance provider to a state’s Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV) to serve as proof that the driver, who has been ordered by the court to acquire it, already carries the state-required car liability insurance coverage; it is also the means that will let drivers regain and enjoy again their driving privileges.

Besides the SR-22 fees that need to be paid (not all states impose a fee, though), drivers required of it will also have to suffer paying a higher premium for their insurance, usually up to three years. Drivers should see to it that their insurance policy never lapses or gets cancelled (within the specified duration of the SR-22), otherwise, their auto insurance company will have to notify the state which, in turn, will suspended their license again.

According to Habush Habush & Rottier S.C.®, the state, where the form had been required and issued, may lift the SR-22 requirement only if the driver concerned had not been caught anew due to another traffic violation; if charged with a new offense, however, the state has the option and authority to impose an extension of the SR-22.

The SR-22 is not required in all states and in states where it is required, not all auto insurance companies are certified by the state’s DMV to issue it. Individuals will need to check which auto insurance provider in their state offers it. With regard to states that do not require the SR-22, these include Delaware, Kentucky, Minnesota, New Mexico, New York, North Carolina, Oklahoma and Pennsylvania.

read more

Related Posts


Share This